Aug 25, 2012

Swipe by Evan Angler

SWIPE ~ Book 1 in the Swipe Series by Evan Angler

Everyone gets the Mark. It gives all the benefits of citizenship. Yet if getting the Mark is such a good thing, then why does it feel so wrong?

Set in a future North America that is struggling to recover after famine and global war, Swipe follows the lives of three kids caught in the middle of a conflict they didn’t even know existed. United under a charismatic leader, every citizen of the American Union is required to get the Mark on their 13th birthday in order to gain the benefits of citizenship.

The Mark is a tattoo that must be swiped by special scanners for everything from employment to transportation to shopping. It’s almost Logan Langly’s 13th birthday and he knows he should be excited about getting the Mark, but he hasn’t been able to shake the feeling he’s being watched. Not since his sister went to get her Mark five years ago . . . and never came back.

When Logan and his friends discover the truth behind the Mark, will they ever be able to go back to being normal teenagers? Find out in the first book of this exciting series that is Left Behind meets Matched for middle-grade readers.

Watch the Trailer:

My Review:
Swipe is the first book in the Swipe Series by author Evan Angler.  Swipe tells about Logan, a 12 year old boy who is paranoid that someone is watching him . . . unfortunately he's right - he IS being watched.
I enjoyed this book immensely.  It reminded me a little of the "Left Behind" series, but was different enough to capture and keep my interest on it's own.  A well-written, intriguing adventure set in a time after civilization has been at war again, and everyone has been offered a "Mark" which allows them to get jobs at only 13 years old, buy whatever they want, whenever they want, and basically have as much "freedom" as those in charge allow.  This story is scary in its realistic ideas, captivating as the reader feels the fear and distrust of a young boy who knows someone is watching him, and the devastating reality that everything he thinks to be true, is in fact lies.
I highly recommend this book for readers age 11 and up.  I'm looking forward to reading the second book in the series:  Sneak, which is due to come out in September of 2012!

More info about the book and author can be found here:
Author website:

I received one or more books or products in the post above for review purposes only. I was in no way required to write a positive review. All my reviews are my honest and personal opinion.  If you have any questions or comments, please see my FTC disclosure or Review Policy.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! Comments are always welcome!