Nov 1, 2011

Karen Kingsbury ~ Forever Faithful ~ Review


Forever Faithful Trilogy
by Karen Kingsbury

“I’m afraid there’s been a car accident...”

As Hannah Ryan waits for her family to return home from a camping trip, she realizes she has everything going for her—a husband other women admire, two charming teenage daughters, and a loving Christian home. As the sunny afternoon turns into twilight, her uneasiness grows along with the shadows. Then a car pulls into Hannah’s driveway, bringing two police officers...and devastating news that shatters her life forever.
In the days that follow, Hannah struggles with unspeakable feelings of sorrow and rage—feelings that fuse into one chilling purpose for living: revenge against Brian Wesley, the drunk driver who has caused all her pain.
In her fury, Hannah shuts the Lord out of her life. She’s determined not to forgive Wesley or the God who allowed this tragedy to happen. Can two caring people help Hannah rediscover her faith...before bitterness destroys her?


As usual, Karen Kingsbury delves into complex and troubling problems that are encountered in this world and shows God's faithfulness through the tears, pain and joy. Nobody can imagine how they would truly react if they were faced with a tragedy like that which happens to Hannah’s family.  I hope I wouldn't completely turn my back on God, as the main character, Hannah does in this book, if faced with the same situation. I also hope I would not let my life be consumed with hate and vengeance. But how do I know what my reaction would be unless faced with the same or a similar circumstance?  How would the child that “survives” handle the pressure of not only losing those she loves in a horrific accident, but “losing” her mother as well to anger and grief? Those subjects and others, are explored in depth in Waiting for Morning.
This story is painful to read and the depth of emotion makes this not only a good read, but a very emotional read as well.

Had they found each other again after all these years, only to lose everything that matters most?

As children, Jade Conner and Tanner Eastman were best friends—until scandal drove them apart. Then, one golden summer, they find each other again.  Through endless days they share their hearts and souls and dreams of forever.  Then, in a moment of weakness, they make a decision that will tear them apart for nearly a decade.
In their own separate corners of the country, Jade and Tanner have become fighters for religious freedom. Now Jade’s unfaithful husband is determined to destroy her in a custody battle that will rock the nation and shake people’s understanding of faith and freedom. Could Jade lose her only child because of her faith? Only one man can help her in her darkest hour. And only one old woman knows the secret about that summer and the truth that can set them all free.

A Moment of Weakness is a powerful story of sin, forgiveness and love. It is a wonderfully, well-written, Christian novel about two good friends Jade Conner and Tanner Eastman, who each thought that they would be together forever.  But things change and Jade moves away one year.  Later that summer, they find each other again. They spend the whole summer catching up on what they had missed out on and find that they fell in love with each other.  Right before Tanner had to leave, they made a poor choice that changed each of their lives forever. When they finally see each other again, after a decade, Jade has a secret which she keeps from Tanner.
This story sends a message of two Christians, who make a mistake. When they meet again, they are grown adults. They choose this time to follow the Lord's plan, even though they were not sure what it was. Their faith was strong ending this story with a wonderful bang. I won’t spoil the ending for you, so you must read this book to see how their journey begins and ends.

You wept with them as they were
Waiting for Morning...
You shared their Moment of Weakness...
Now they face the greatest struggles of their lives.

Matt and Hannah Bronzan have found a new life in the face of devastating loss.  Together with Hannah’s daughter, Jenny, they are finally moving forward—toward the adoption of a little girl. A younger sister for Jenny, a daughter for them to love and raise together. But just when the dream seems to be coming true, disaster strikes. Can Hannah survive the loss of another daughter?
Jade and Tanner Eastman love the Bronzans. Matt and Tanner are partners in a successful religious freedom law firm, and the two couples share a great deal. Not the least of which has been Jade and Tanner’s struggle to have children.  When they discover Jade is pregnant, their joy is boundless. Until the joyous event becomes a threat to Jade’s very life. Will Tanner come through decades of loneliness only to face losing Jade one final time?
Caught in a desperate battle against all that threatens to derail their faith and sideline their futures, these four struggle together to depend daily on God, regardless of what comes against them, as they journey halfway to forever.

In this emotion-packed novel, Kingsbury takes the leading characters from two of her former books and weaves a beautiful saga of faith under trial.
Hannah and Matt Bronzan (from `Waiting For Morning') and Tanner and Jade Eastman (from `A Moment of Weakness') are good friends who attend the same church. Tanner and Matt are high-powered Christian lawyers who run a prestigious law firm specializing in religious freedom cases. Both men are happily married with successful careers and loving families. The two couples have struggled with their own issues from the past but now they are entering a new chapter of their lives.
Hannah has come to the place where she feels it is time to move on after the loss of her former husband and young daughter. She and Matt decide to adopt a little four-year-old girl, trusting the Lord for the adoption to go through without any hitches and to bring healing to their hearts.
Tanner and Jade, after almost giving up hope of having another child, discover they are to be parents. They trust God for a safe pregnancy and a healthy child. However both families soon find their faith under trial. Matt and Hannah encounter problems with the adoption and Jade develops an illness that threatens her life, and that of her baby.
This book deals with the subject of loss and the death of loved ones.  I believe the author, Karen Kingsbury, brought her message across in a very real, in-depth way.  This trilogy was a wonderful, emotion-packed read that is well-worth the time and emotional investment needed to really enjoy it to the fullest.

Each book individually sells for $9.99 on ~ The Complete Trilogy currently sells for $12.76 on

* In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising;" I am disclosing that: This blog is written and edited by me personally. I do not accept any form of cash advertising, or paid insertions. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group, through their Blogging for Books program, in exchange for posting my honest review.  Even So, I ONLY recommend products or books, that I use personally and believe would be good for my readers. My reviews are my honest opinions and are in no way influenced by the author or publisher of the books I have received. See my policy & disclosure tab.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! Comments are always welcome!